MYTH: The gluten-free diet is free of whole wheat, thus is free of whole grains.
FACT: Gluten-free dieters can receive the benefits of whole grains including vitamins, minerals, protein, and fiber. Many gluten-free grains (quinoa, brown rice, amaranth, buckwheat) are nutrient powerhouses and provide excellent sources of vitamins and minerals.
How do you find whole grains?
1) Look for the word “WHOLE” on the ingredient label. Don’t be misled with foods that claim to be “multi-grain” or “high fiber,” considering those don’t necessarily mean whole grain. Look for the word “WHOLE,” such as WHOLE GRAIN BROWN RICE or WHOLE GRAIN CORN.
2) Look for foods marked with the 100% Whole Grain Council Stamp (shown here).
3) Choose foods that are a “good” or “excellent” source of fiber. The amount of fiber in a whole grain food varies depending on the type of grain, amount of bran, density of the product, and moisture content. Labeling regulations allow a food to be called a “good” source of fiber if the food contains between 2.5-4.9 grams fiber per serving. An “excellent” source contains more than 4.9 grams per serving.
Read more about Whole Grains and the Gluten-Free Diet in this article from the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center and visit www.cureceliacdisease.org.
Do you have questions about the gluten-free diet? Interested in individualized counseling to make sure you and your family receive adequate daily nutrition? Contact FEED at www.feednutrition.com or 847-651-4729.